Council Year 2007/2008

Schedule of Group Nominations, including proposed appointments to the Cabinet by the Leader

Notes: (1) Where the number of members of a body is variable, the optional additional member number is bracketed - please see the accompanying paper on the application of the political balance rules where the different options are considered.

(2) Substitutes are allowed where indicated. The Council's Constitution requires that these be named and appointed at the Annual meeting. A number equal to the number of committee members from a Group up to a maximum of 3 are allowed for that Group unless stated otherwise.

CABINET (Leader of the Council plus 4 additional members of the controlling group). The formal appointment of the four members (other than the Leader) is to be made by the Leader following his/her appointment by the full Council. Although the Council has previously determined that the size of the Cabinet shall be five in total it is open to the Leader to recommend the Council to agree a different size. The law requires that the Cabinet shall have at least 3 but not more than 10 members (including the Leader).

1	Leader of the Council: Cllr David Tutt
2	Deputy Leader: Cllr Neil Stanley
3	Cllr Steve Wallis
4	Cllr Margaret Bannister
5	Cllr Troy Tester

(Note: Portfolio details will be reported at the meeting)

OPPOSITION "SHADOW CABINET" (Notification for information)

1	Opposition Leader: Cllr David Elkin (Strategy & Democracy,				
	HR, Special projects)				
2	Deputy Leader: Cllr Sandie Howlett (Housing, Health and				
	Community Services)				
3	Cllr Graham Marsden (Finance)				
4	Cllr Barry Taylor (Planning & Environment)				
5	Cllr Colin Belsey (Tourism & Communications)				

COMMITTEES

Scrutiny Committee (7 (or 8) members, not members of the Cabinet or the Mayor. Chairman to be appointed from the largest opposition group. and Deputy Chairman from the controlling group.

Controlling Group		Opposition		
1	D/Ch: Cllr Gregory Szanto	6	Ch: Cllr Graham Marsden	
2	Cllr Olive Woodall	7	Cllr Colin Belsey	
3	Cllr Margaret Salsbury	Substitutes:		
4	Cllr Daniel Purchese	1	Cllr David Elkin	
5	Cllr Carolyn Heaps	2	Cllr Barbara Goodall	
(8)	No appointment to be made			
Subs	titutes:			
1	Cllr Mike Thompson			
2	Cllr Gill Mattock			
3	Cllr Alex Hough			

<u>Planning Committee</u> (12 trained Councillors - not Cabinet members. 8 as members of the Committee and 4 as substitutes).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Cllr Rebecca Madell	7	Cllr Barry Taylor
2	D/Ch: Cllr Jon Harris	8	Cllr Barbara Goodall
3	Cllr Michael Bloom	Substitutes:	
4	Cllr Gregory Szanto	1	Cllr Colin Belsey
5	Cllr Andrew Goodwin	2	Cllr Sandie Howlett
6	Cllr Margaret Salsbury		
Sub	stitutes:		
1	Cllr Susan Morris		
2	Cllr Harun Miah		

<u>Licensing Act and General Licensing Committees</u> (Between 10 and 15 trained Members (currently 15) – not Cabinet members).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Cllr Susan Morris	12	Cllr Colin Belsey
2	D/Ch: Cllr Mike Thompson	13	Cllr David Elkin
3	Cllr Carolyn Heaps	14	Cllr Nigel Goodyear
4	Cllr Olive Woodall	15	Cllr Barbara Goodall
5	Cllr Margaret Salsbury		
6	Cllr Andrew Goodwin		
7	Cllr Michael Bloom		
8	Cllr Daniel Purchese		
9	Cllr Alex Hough		
10	Cllr Jon Harris		
11	Cllr Rebecca Madell		

No substitution allowed)

<u>Sub-Committee Standing Chairmen:</u> (Between 3 and 5 members drawn from the membership of the Licensing Committees – currently 5)

1	Cllr Susan Morris
2	Cllr Mike Thompson
3	Cllr Michael Bloom
4	To be advised*
5	To be advised*

(* N.B. Conservative Group nominations will not be made in respect of these 2 positions)

Standards Committee (4 councillors and 2 independent members and to be chaired by one of the independent members)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Cllr Jon Harris	3	Cllr Barry Taylor
2	Cllr Michael Bloom	4	Cllr Sandie Howlett
Substitutes:		Substitutes:	
1	Cllr Andrew Goodwin	1	Cllr David Elkin
2	Cllr Olive Woodall	2	Cllr Barbara Goodall

<u>Annual Accounts Committee</u> (5 councillors, to include the Cabinet member and the Opposition spokesperson for finance)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Cllr Neil Stanley	5	Cllr Graham Marsden
2	Cllr Gill Mattock	Substitutes:	
3	Cllr Gregory Szanto	1	Cllr Barry Taylor
4	Cllr David Tutt	2	Cllr Nigel Goodyear
Sub	stitutes:		
1	To be advised		
2	To be advised		

ADVISORY GROUPS

Conservation Area Advisory Group 4 (or 3) members, not Planning Committee members, plus external advisors)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Cllr Steve Wallis	3	Cllr Nigel Goodyear
2	D/Ch: Cllr Olive Woodall		
(4)	Cllr Alex Hough		

Joint Staff Consultative Committee (6 members, 3 from the controlling group and 3 from the largest opposition group, plus Staff representatives. Controlling Group's representation to include 2 Cabinet and 1 non-Cabinet member. Chairmanship alternates between Employer's and Staff Sides).

Nominations are made on the basis of a 4/2 split as referred to in paragraph 2.9 of the report on the application of the political balance rules. Proposals to reduce the overall membership of the JSC with provision for a 2/1 split should be noted at this stage.

	Controlling Group		Opposition
1	Ch: Cllr Susan Morris	1	Cllr Sandie Howlett
2	Cabinet member to be advised	2	Cllr Barbara Goodall
3	Cabinet member to be advised		
(4)	Cllr Gregory Szanto		

TASK GROUPS AND OTHER BODIES:

Grants Task Group (3 members)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Cllr Gregory Szanto	3	Cllr Sandie Howlett
2	Cllr Gill Mattock		

Audit Task Group (2 members of the Scrutiny Committee)

Controlling Group		Opposition		
1	Cllr Daniel Purchese	2	Cllr Graham Marsden	

Downland Forum (3 or 4 members)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Cllr Olive Woodall	3	Cllr Colin Belsey
2	Cllr Alex Hough		
(4)	No appointment to be made		

Cleansing and Highways Forum (2 members)

Controlling Group	Opposition
Cabinet member to be advised	Cllr Barry Taylor

Eastbourne Buses Limited - Non Executive Directors (4 members)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Cllr Mike Thompson	3	Cllr Barry Taylor
2	Cllr Neil Stanley	4	Cllr Nigel Goodyear

Eastbourne Homes - Non Executive Directors (4 councillors)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Cllr David Tutt	3	Cllr Graham Marsden
2	Cllr Gill Mattock	4	Mrs Ann Murray*

(* Group's preferred choice so as to maintain continuity. If nominee has to be a councillor the Conservative Group's nominee is Cllr Sandie Howlett)

Wealden and Eastbourne Lifeline Board - Non Executive Directors (2 councillors)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Cllr Olive Woodall	2	Cllr Sandie Howlett

PROJECT BOARDS AND OTHER

Members' IT/T-Government Board:

Relevant Cabinet member (or nominee) and Cllr Nigel Goodyear

Town Centre Development

Relevant Cabinet member (or nominee) and Cllr David Elkin

Cleansing Contracts/Garden Waste

Relevant Cabinet member (or nominee) and Cllr Barry Taylor

Civil Parking (joint with East Sussex County Council): Relevant Cabinet member (or nominee) and Cllr David Elkin

Wartling Road Coach and Lorry Park (if still required)

Relevant Cabinet member (or nominee) and Cllr David Elkin

Cultural Centre

Relevant Cabinet member (or nominee) and Cllr Sandie Howlett

Local Development Framework Steering Group

Relevant Cabinet member (or nominee) and Cllr Barry Taylor

Councillors appointed to hold a Youth Brief

3 to Councillors to be nominated by the Liberal Democrat Group and Cllr Nigel Goodyear

 $(der\P:council\2007\07.05.16\schedule\ of\ group\ noms)$